Posted by: Brandon | February 4, 2009

25 Random Things About Me

Okay, here’s my list of 25 random things about me, that everyon’s posting about these days. There’s some pretty personal stuff in here that hardly anybody knows, so by reading this, you will know more about me than just about anyone except my immediate family and my wife.

  1. I have had open heart surgery to replace a broken valve. Scary, huh? I don’t remember it because I was only 2 weeks old. More scary for my parents, I think… Fortunately, it’s been pumping fine ever since.
  2. I loved oldies music as a teenager, and listened to 94.1 a lot. I can still sing along with most of the popular songs from the 50’s to the early 70’s. I especially loved Simon & Garfunkel, and the Beatles.
  3. Now that my teens are over, I rarely listen to anything besides Classical and church music, and occasionally some jazz (especially pre-50’s jazz). I especially love Renaissance choral music.
  4. My sister tells me I was really mean to her growing up, but I don’t remember any of it. Things like holding up a paper bag and saying, “This is your head!” And then smashing it repeatedly. Was I really that mean?
  5. From the time I was about 12 to 19, I went to the Temple every single week before school to do baptisms for the dead. I only missed a couple times, and I often went multiple times per week. I always felt so good and at peace, and it made my whole day go better. I went with friends as often as I could, but went alone a lot, too. I’ve tried to keep this up since my mission, but lately it’s been more like once a month, and it’s usually initiatory.
  6. I usually wear the same pair of pants (jeans) every day (except Sunday) for about two weeks straight before putting them in the laundry basket. Jen wonders why I don’t just buy another pair… so do I…
  7. I also usually wear the same shirt over and over again (although not in consecutive days) until I spill something on it, before I put it in the laundry basket. You haven’t noticed any unusual smell about me, have you? That’s because I also put them in the wash when they start to stink. 🙂 (Note: this doesn’t apply to underwear or socks – they get worn once, then washed).
  8. I love the idea of space exploration. I got started watching Star Trek (The Next Generation) growing up because my parents watched. And I loved it. I was even a Star Trek character for Halloween once (my grandma made the costume). I recently watched an old episode of Star Trek however, and wasn’t as impressed as I used to be. I wonder if I’d feel that way about Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles…
  9. I love learning languages. In the 7th grade, I got some Japanese books from my dad and learned on my own how to read and write all the hiragana and katakana alphabets. Fortunately, I got to use them on my mission to Japan! Now I’m learning Spanish in Panama! (I’m writing this outside in the midst of a tropical garden…ahh…)
  10. Also in seventh grade, I played the Major General in the musical, “The Pirates of Penzance”. I was also Johnny Appleseed in “Johny Appleseed” in 9th grade. Both were a lot of fun, and I’ve wanted to be in another musical ever since. I was never in a musical in high school because I was too busy with work, but I think I will try out for some this year.
  11. When I was twelve I wrote my first computer program. It was a text-adventure game (with some pictures and sounds) that I wrote in QBasic called “Abuction”. The plot was that aliens came and abducted you from your house and you had to escape their ship. I did all the voices and raised and lowered the pitch to make them sound scary or alien-like. It was really fun to make and play.
  12. I have a strong distaste for dogs and cats. I can’t stand them in the house, or having them jump on me or lick me, or even rub against my leg with their dirty hair. Yeuck! I didn’t always feel this way (I used to have a dog), but part of it probably stems from an allergy I have toward cats and some dogs. Now I just don’t like them anywhere near me.
  13. I have never broken a bone. I avoid most sports because I want to protect my precious piano-playing, keyboard-typing fingers. I do enjoy pool and bowling, however. And dodgeball.
  14. I have a crooked smile. My left cheek has a dimple that came because I crashed my bike into a corner of my garage when I was a little boy. It’s never gone away, and the left side of my mouth doesn’t curl up as high as my right when I smile.
  15. I have tried Tae Kwon Do, Hap ki Do, Kempo, and several other martial arts styles, for very short periods of time. I’ve finally settled on Tai Chi, which I love.
  16. I have always been grossed out by the sight of (or even the word) “blood”. I’ve gotten better, and even watched my kids be born without fainting, but I can’t stand to bait a hook, cut fresh meat, or watch bloody movies.
  17. I love the library! I get almost all my books and music there. If there’s something I want to own, I might end up buying it, but that’s rare.
  18. When I was a teen, I read as many church-related books as I could find, dozens of them, and loved them all. I don’t know how I spent so much time reading before. I can only seem to do it for short spans these days, without get restless.
  19. I have probably read fewer than 10 novels in my entire life. I prefer business, church, and self-help books.
  20. Before my mission, I had memorized about an hours’ worth of music for a private piano recital that I put on at Day Murray Music. I still remember how to play some of the pieces. My fingers were then at their peak.
  21. Now I mostly enjoy improvising hymns and writing my own music as I play.
  22. I have two very cute little daughters who bring me a lot of joy.
  23. I have the sweetest wife in the world, who takes care of me better than anyone could, I think. We’re very lovey-dovey and cuddly, even after 6 six years of marriage. I’m sure it grosses some people out, because we’re that way in public on occasion.
  24. I actually enjoy speaking in public, if it’s a subject I know a lot about. I am also a member of Toastmasters International, and practice speaking there on occasion.
  25. I don’t like watching movies very much. The new ones are too real they’re unreal – and I don’t like the attitudes in a lot of the movies. I do enjoy old movies, however (like, before the 70’s), especially when there’s a good moral to be learned, or if it’s a good comedy.

Alright, I did it. I wrote 25 things about me. I’ll bet you learned something you didn’t know. If you’d like to write 25 things about you, consider yourself tagged, and have at it. Just let me know so I can read it! (You can post a comment below).

Responses

  1. First of all, it was actually Dad that did that “This is your head” thing. And it was with an empty Eggo Waffles bag. It made me cry. LOL. But besides that not being you, yes you were very mean to me. You were a mean big brother who bullied me and made fun of me wherever we went. When I was 11 and you were 13, you made me walk at LEAST 10-15 feet in front of or behind you, because you didn’t want people to think you were with me. Do you seriously not remember this? 🙂

    At least now you’re the best brother anyone could ever ask for. You’ve definitely made up for it.

    Second, I actually think I knew almost everything on here. You have so many amazing talents and qualities. I’ve always been impressed.

    Lastly, gross. The same pants every day for a week? Oh, Brandon… I think I know what to get you for your birthday.

  2. I loved reading this list, it reminds me of many of the things that make you who you are, which is someone I love very much. 🙂 Also, since getting to know you, I’ve learned to take advantage of library services much more, and it has greatly enriched my life! Thanks Sweetie!

  3. Great list!

    You WERE really mean to Ashley (and I’ve heard I was really mean to my brother Jeston when we were little – but I don’t remember it)… but you’ve grown up into a very loving and wonderful man.

    Your heart surgery wasn’t actually open heart – fortunately the didn’t have to open your heart. They needed close off the PDA valve, which should have been closed when you were born, but didn’t. It was a terrifying time, and we’re so grateful that you’ve been healthy as a horse since!

  4. Brandon, I loved reading your 25 things. Knowing you were mean to Ashley gives me hope for some of my own grandchildren who can be pretty mean to their siblings. I also love reading the accounts here of your travels.

  5. Wow, you’re wife was #23? Hehe, just had to throw you under the bus there! 😀

    I’m surprised that I knew *most* of this stuff about you.

    One thing I miss about Salt Lake County is the library system. There is no library in Alpine! I just saw their plans to build one though.

  6. Brandon, I love your list and have learned so much more about you!
    I remember clearly many Saturday mornings when your dad would bring you over to visit after your time together at the local library. On one occasion – you were about 2-3 years old – you told me with great solemnity, “you can’t wun awound at the libwary”.
    I thought you were so damn cute! Still do. xxx

  7. Just posted my 25: http://www.davisvillage.com/25-things-about-dustin.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

