Posted by: Brandon | March 25, 2009

Marshmallow Temples

For Family Home Evening on Monday, Jennifer did the lesson on Temples, why they’re important, and how we can be worthy to enter them.

She also came up with a really fun idea of building Temples out of marshmallows. She made a giant sugar cookie for each of us to use as the base, and we spread green frosting around for the grass. Then we used big and small white marshmallows to build our temples, gluing them together with white frosting. After that we used chocolate frosting for garden soil, and made our flowers (and angel Moroni’s) with nerd candies. I think they turned out pretty cute, and it was a fun way to teach our kids about temples.

Like the symbol-rich temple ceremonies, our candy temples were a bit too much to eat in one sitting. But we enjoyed what we could digest. I also had a bit of fun with symbolism in my temple. Notice there are 7 rows of little marshmallows in the front, 12 big marshmallows total, and 3 spires. Okay, maybe I took this activity a bit too seriously… 🙂 Anyway, check out our temples below.

I also really enjoyed this short video about Temples that the church recently launched on their YouTube page. See more videos at http://www.youtube.com/user/MormonMessages

Responses

  1. I am so glad we could do that and have so much fun. It was fun to play architect and gardener with marshmallows and candy. 🙂

  2. What a great idea. They turned out awesome. I will have to steal that idea.

  3. That is SUCH a cute idea!! I love the marshmallow temples. Good way to teach about them. I’ll bet the girls had a blast.

    We’re so excited to have them over this weekend!

  4. What a clever idea for teaching your family about the temples. It looks like you all had a fun. I can see Marie started munching the sweets before she was finished putting it together :o) I really admire the desire and effort you are making to have family time important and good times.

  5. I also enjoyed the temple video. Did you get to go to the dedication of the Draper Temple? We were in AZ so didn’t get there, but I see the dedication prayer is on Mormon Times.com So I’m going to go and read it :o) HAve a happy day

  6. That is very cute. What a fun idea. Good job, Jen!


Leave a Reply

Categories

