Posted by: Brandon | May 14, 2009

100 Pushups

one-hundred-pushupsThis week, I started participating in a “100 pushup” program, where in six weeks, I should be able to do 100 consecutive pushups. A few of us guys and girls who are in the “Joseph” show decided to do it just for fun. It’s cool to say you can do 100 push-ups! Plus, there’s a chance some of us will be shirtless in the show (like Joseph, of course), and even I may need to wear a coconut bra! Agh! (Don’t want to embarrass myself or anything)

I’ve always enjoyed pushups. I used to do them every morning and night as a teenager, and I still often do them as part of my morning exercise routine. But I usually don’t do enough to get sore. This week has been different.

You can go to www.hundredpushups.com to read all about the program. You do an initial test and max out to see how many pushups you can do (I did 31 on my test). Then you follow a chart, and 3 days a week, you do a series of pushups with a 60 or 90 second break in between.

For example, yesterday, I did 20 pushups, then 25, then 15, then 15 again. Then I did as many as I could. I was SOOOO worn out, and was sore all day.

And I am still sore today. But more than being sore, when I woke up and saw my bare chest in the mirror, I was shocked and a little scared to find out that my chest had mutated! My pectoral muscles seemed almost twice the size they were last time I checked. I didn’t expect that, nor did I think it possible that this kind of growth could happen in just three days!

I’m a little scared to keep going with the program, because at this rate, I’m going to look like a girl by next Friday. I also don’t like being constantly sore. Then again, it’s kind of fun to have a little muscle – especially for a small guy like me. 🙂 So, I think I’ll do some more tomorrow, and have a very sore weekend. Wish me luck.

Responses

  1. I am amazed at how much your muscles have grown in such a short time too! Like you say though, no pain, no gain. 🙂 Keep up the great work!

  2. Wow- good for you! Yes, I remember when you had nightly routines (morningly?…) to do push-ups and sit-ups. You amaze me. Good job and good luck!

  3. GOOD LUCK !

  4. I want to see before and after pictures.


Leave a Reply

Categories

